);

Arianna  Sanesi is an italian photographer currently based in Paris. After getting a Master’s Degree in History of Photography at Bologna University, she attends CFP Bauer in Milan and works for a long time as an assistant for Ferdinando Scianna, italian Magnum photographer.

She presently devotes herself full time to visual storytelling, focusing her attention on social and cultural issues. In 2013 she attends the Advanced Visual Storytelling class at the Danish School of Media and Journalism in Aarhus (DK). The final project, Dispersal, becomes a book that travels and is nationally and internationally exhibited. In 2015 she receives a grant from the Festival en Baie de Saint Brieuc to build a project on femicides in Italy, and is exhibited during the Festival.

She is currently working on several personal project and establishing, with her colleague Francesca Loprieno, the project L’esprit de l’escalier:, a platform for photographic projects, pedagogy and publishing.

 

Arianna Sanesi: “My artistic approach is about looking, and the exploration of meaning. I do not stop at the surface of things by deciding to take the time to dig: to dig in the stories, the mystery, or simply in what we consider acquired.

I meet the ghosts (mine and others’) and I try to evoke the invisible. I use every possible source for inspiration and expression: I work mainly with the help of hints and traces, in search of what has disappeared, what cannot be seen, what cannot be shown and from there I start to build a story. I waver between little personal events that are close to me or I jump to what is really far away and perceived as distant, convinced that these two levels of work are closely related. I use photography as a language that leads its own life and that is, as a result, able to change and adapt to the nature of the story that tells: I like to change the format, the way, the sources . I dig in the archives and at the same time I am fascinated by new technologies.

Almost all the projects I am pursuing are related to memory and loss, whether it is my family background, the disappearance of a wolf or the murder of women in my home country. I try to deal with what is missing and make it visible.

Faced with the flood of images that we know today, I came to the conclusion that there must be a meaning, a story for which we feel so much need to tell it, not to reduce photography to a sterile exercise”.

Tournefou (Fr) | Photography Résidence 2019

Particularly dedicated to the fields of reasearch and creation, initiator of a new form of artistic and cultural development, the Tournefou Domain has a vocation to be a home of confidence for artists who came to experiment an artistic presence in rural territory. The Tournefou, being a pluridisciplinary place of production and exhibitions, also allows the artist possibilities to meet with the population, the environment, places of art and culture and partners of the Tournefou’s program.

Each stay in residence has its peculiarity, and attention is driven towards two priorities : – the artist’s project, so that he(she) can implement his(her) work in the best possible conditions, – transmission of the artist’s work of art through educational action and mediation in proximity with the publics.

 

Residency project

During her stay in a creative residency, Arianna Sanesi will carry out a series of photographs in Essoyes and its surroundings, which she proposes to walk through on foot. It will be inspired by Jean Renoir’s film theme on the occasion of the 60th anniversary of the filmmaker’s death. The painter Pierre-Auguste Renoir, father of Jean, and his wife Aline had bought a country house in Essoyes, which was the birthplace of Aline. Today, it has become a museum house open to the public that recreates the daily life of the painter and his family.

The village of Essoyes and its surrounding countryside were a playground and souvenirs for Renoir children. With her camera, Arianna Sannesi will try to go in search of childhood memories of Jean Renoir and to question how he was able to then transpose them in his cinema. This residency will be concluded and extended by a photographic exhibition of Arianna Sanesi at the Renoir Cultural Center in Essoyes.

);

Arianna  Sanesi est une photographe italienne installée à Paris. Après une Maîtrise en Histoire de la Photographie à l’Université de Bologne, elle étudie au CFP Bauer à Milan et travaille longtemps en tant qu’assistante personnelle de Ferdinando Scianna, photographe de l’agence Magnum. Elle se dédie entièrement au storytelling visuel, notamment fascinée par des thèmes sociaux et culturels.

En 2013 elle fréquente le cours « Advanced Visual Storytelling » à Aarhus, Danemark. Le projet final, Dispersal, devient un livre qui voyage et qui exhibé au niveau national et international. En 2015 elle reçoit une bourse du Festival Photoreporter en Baie de Saint-Brieuc pour travailler sur le thème des féminicides en Italie, et elle expose son projet en octobre 2015.

Elle travaille actuellement sur plusieurs projets personnels et a créé avec son collègue Francesca Loprieno, L’esprit de l’escalier, un binôme artistique qui s’occupe de création, d’édition et de projets pédagogiques.

 

La démarche artistique de Arianna Sanesi parle de regard et exploration du sens. Elle ne s’arrête pas à la surface des choses prend le temps pour creuser : creuser dans les histoires, le mystère, ou tout simplement dans ce qu’on considère comme acquis. Elle part à la rencontre des fantômes (les siens et ceux d’autrui) et elle essaye d’évoquer l’invisible.

L’artiste travaille principalement avec l’aide d’allusions et de traces, à la recherche de ce qui a disparu, de ce qui ne peut être vu, de ce qui ne peut être montré… et de là, elle commence à construire un récit. Elle vacille entre petits événements personnels qui lui sont proches ou sauts vers ce qui lui est vraiment éloigné ou perçu comme distant, persuadée que ces deux niveaux de travail sont étroitement liés. Elle utilise la photographie comme une langue qui mène sa propre vie et qui est, en conséquence, capable de changer et de s’adapter à la nature de l’histoire qu’elle raconte en changeant le format, le moyen, les sources… Elle creuse dans les archives tout en étant, dans le même temps, fascinée par les nouvelles technologies. Presque tous les projets qu’elle poursuit sont reliés à la mémoire et à la perte, que ce soit celle de son milieu familial, de la disparition d’un loup ou des meurtres de femmes dans son pays d’origine. Elle cherche à faire face à ce qui manque et à le rendre visible.

Face à l’inondation des images que nous connaissons aujourd’hui, je suis arrivée à la conclusion qu’il doit y avoir un sens, une histoire pour laquelle on ressent un besoin tellement fort d’en faire la narration et de ne pas réduire la photographie à un exercice stérile.

Tournefou (Fr) | Résidence photographie 2019

Dédié particulièrement aux domaines de la recherche et de la création, initiateur d’une nouvelle forme de développement artistique et culturel, le Tournefou a vocation d’être un foyer de confiance pour les artistes venant expérimenter une présence artistique en territoire rural. Lieu pluridisciplinaires de productions et d’expositions, le Tournefou associe les créateurs avec la population, l’environnement, les lieux d’art et de culture et les partenaires de son programme.

Chaque résidence est singulière, elle se définit à l’écoute de deux priorités :le projet de l’artiste afin qu’il puisse réaliser dans les meilleurs conditions possibles son travailla transmission de son art par des actions de formation, médiation en proximité avec les publics.

Projet de résidence

Durant son séjour en résidence de création, Arianna Sanesi va réaliser une série de photographies à Essoyes et dans ses environs, dont elle propose de parcourir une partie à pieds. Elle s’inspirera du thème du cinéma de Jean Renoir à l’occasion du 60e anniversaire de la mort du cinéaste. Le peintre Pierre-Auguste Renoir, père de Jean, et sa femme Aline avaient acheté une maison de campagne à Essoyes, qui était le village natal d’Aline. C’est aujourd’hui devenu une maison-musée ouverte au public qui reconstitue la vie quotidienne du peintre et de sa famille.

Le village d’Essoyes et sa campagne environnante furent un terrain de jeux et de souvenirs pour les enfants Renoir. Avec son appareil photo, Arianna Sannesi va tenter de partir à la recherche des souvenirs d’enfance de Jean Renoir et de se questionner sur la manière dont il a pu les transposer ensuite dans son cinéma. Cette résidence sera conclue et prolongée par une exposition de photographies d’Arianna Sanesi au Centre Culturel Renoir d’Essoyes.